York Art Gallery
24 March – 4 June 2023

I am delighted that my sculpture ‘Shape Shifter‘ has been shortlisted for the 2023 Aesthetica Art Prize.
The work will be featured in the Future Now 2023 anthology and exhibited in a group exhibition of the Finalists at York Art Gallery from 24 March to 4 June 2023.

York Art Gallery
Exhibition Square
York YO1 7EW
t: 01904 687687

The Aesthetica Art prize celebrates contemporary art in all its forms, offering opportunities for exhibition at a major public art gallery alongside publication. Since 2007, Aesthetica have worked with thousands of artists, putting their work in front of curators and gallerists across the world.

The 2023 Aesthetica Art Prize Exhibition, a celebration of international contemporary art, returns to York
Art Gallery on 24 March – 4 June 2023. The exhibition brings together 21 talented artists in a show that
offers creativity as a form of expression, with projects spanning the boundaries of genre – from painting,
photography and sculpture to installation, mixed-media and video. These works survey the ethics of
representation, mass digitisation, globalisation, diasporic identities and the threats of climate crisis. This
year’s shortlist of international artists is a testament to shared creativity in a time of rapid change.

Artist’s Film: Ada Cotton & Etienne Joseph, Hope Strickland, Larry Achiampong, Steph Tari Odu,
Valentina Ferrandes. Installation: Bea Last, Caro Williams, Computational Design and Visualization Lab, Gareth Phillips, Lavinia Keller, Rosie Sherwood, We Ching Hao. Mixed Media: Jacob Talbot, Zoe Childerley, Painting: Johanna Marie Schimming, Photography: Becky Probert, Debi Cornwall, Julia Fullerton-Batten, Kristina Varaksina, Sculpture: Dario Pilato, Lisa Traxler.

The Jury for the Aesthetica Art Prize 2023 includes a panel comprising influential art figures, including curators, academics and artists whose expertise spans all media:
Baff Akoto, Artist. Bindi Vora, Curator at Autograph, London. Cherie Federico, Co-founder and Managing Director of Aesthetica. Damon Jackson-Waldock, The Art House Wakefield. Hannah Starkey, Photographer. Harriet Cooper, Visual Arts Curator. Luke Kemp, Associate Curator, Barbican. Mariama Attah, Curator, Open Eye Gallery. Nephertiti Oboshie Schandorf, Producer, Commissioner and Artist. Olivia Aherne, Curator, Chisenhale Gallery. Sophie Bownes, Programme Co-ordinator, New Contemporaries. Sutapas Biswas, Artist. Yukako Tanaka, Artist.